King John's Hunting Lodge is the oldest house in the rare, unspoilt medieval village of Lacock.
The main part of the lodge, dating back to the 13th century, still has much of the original cruck beam structure, whilst the rear of the building was added to in Tudor times. King John (1167 - 1216), Lord of the Manor of Melksham, frequently indulged his passion for hunting in the surrounding forest, and it is likely that he made regular visits to his Hunting Lodge.
Lacock is an excellent base from which to visit great houses such as Longleat, Corsham Court, Dyrham Park and Bowood or explore the Cotswolds and many part of SW England.
Lacock village is on the A350 three miles south of Chippenham and nine miles from junction 17 on the M4. Click below to see map.